Letsrecover recovery forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Letsrecover recovery forum

This is a trigger-free recovery help forum for those recovering from restrictive eating disorders, such as anorexia, bulimia, binge-restrict, overexercise or ednos.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Looking for some advice, hopefully experiences, with SSRI (Anti-Depressants)

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

badlab

Hello everyone! I am fairly new to post but have been following the tumblr for awhile now. I want to thank the lets recover team and everyone who has offered support. It has been more helpful than you could imagine. My dietician has recommended I start on Zoloft (an SSRI antidepressant). A little background: I have had anorexia restricting type for about 4 years now. I have bee seeing a therapist/dietician for about a year. I was never severely underweight, but definitely underweight. In the past year I have improved, but never been able to make the leap to 2500+ calories (I am over 25). I have gained some weight but still have a lot of symptoms of starvation and my dietician says I still need to gain probably at least 10 pounds. I am guessing I am very close to a low healthy BMI right now, I do blind weigh in. My dietician feels that because it has been over a year of treatment with minimal progress I would benefit from an SSRI to help with the anxiety and OCD I experience. I really do not like the idea of taking medication, I know it may be a little bit of loss of control feelings here. I just was wondering if anyone had any experience with Zoloft or any SSRI's during treatment. I have to be honest my biggest fear is that it will cause weight gain, not natural weight gain, but medical weight gain, which scares me to death. I do not know if SSRI's have any affect on your metabolism or not? I want to gain weight because I am eating more not due to a medication. Any experiences o